Honoured members

AAG formally recognises members who have given outstanding service to AAG.


AAG's highest honour is that of Life Membership. Life Members have a long and distinguished record of service as a member and contribution to the gerontology community at a national level. Awards are made as and when suitable candidates are nominated.

Distinguished Member Awards were introduced in 1999. Nomination is made by AAG's State and Territory Divisions.

The AAG Fellowship Award was established in 1999 to recognise high professional standing of members in any field of gerontology.

See more about previous honour recipients. We also recognise AAG members and friends who are no longer with us

AAG Life Members

2022 Life Member Inductees

Previous awardee Dr Gill Lewin (formerly Prof) was in Melbourne for a Board Meeting in May 2022. AAG President A/Prof Marguerite Bramble took the opportunity to present her with her plaque.

2021 Life Member Inductees

The 2021 Life Member Inductees Professor Lynne Parkinson and Professor Linda Rosenman were announced during the 2021 AAG and AAG Research Trust online AGM and Trust Update.

2020 Life Member Inductees

The 2020 Life Member Inductees Professor Christine Stirling and David Heath were announced during the 2020 AAG and AAG Research Trust online AGM and Trust Update.

2019 Life Member Inductee

The 2019 Life Member Inductee Ruth Bright OAM, was unfortunately unable to attend the 2019 AAG Conference however, Ruth Innall OAM a previous inductee was in attendance and recognised with a presentation

Other Life Member Inductees

Mark Elliott being presented with his award at the 2018 AAG Conference.


Some inductees from previous years were also recognised with a presentation at the 2018 Conference.

From left to right: (pic.1) Dr Glenda Powell, Prof Keith Hill, Barbara Squires, Prof Julie Byles, A/Prof Briony Dow, Prof Leon Flicker AO & (pic.2) Dr Helen Barrie.

Professor Anna Howe was unable to make the 2018 Conference but CEO James Beckford Saunders was able to catch up with her at a subsequent event.

Honour board - Life Members

Dr Helen Barrie

Ruth Bright OAM

Professor Tony Broe

Professor Laurie Buys

Professor Julie Byles

Professor Briony Dow

Mark Elliott

Professor Leon Flicker AO

Dr Kevin Grant

David Heath

Professor Keith Hill

Professor Anna Howe

Ruth Inall OAM

Professor Gill Lewin

Professor Lynne Parkinson

Dr Glenda Powell

Professor Linda Rosenman

Frank Schaper

Barbara Squires

Professor Christine Stirling

Honour board - Life Members who have passed away

Professor Gary Andrews

Professor Fred Ehrlich OAM

Dr Arthur Everitt

Dr Richard 'Dick' Gibson

Dr Keith Hirschfeld

Professor Hal Kendig

Professor Richard Lefroy

Bess McRae

Professor Sidney Sax CBE

Dr David Wallace