International Association of Gerontology & Geriatrics (IAGG)

The International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics (IAGG) was first established in Belgium in July 1950. It was established to improve the quality of life of the world’s older people by sharing research results on health, welfare, and rights, functioning as a worldwide network to achieve the goal.

It was originally known as the International Association of Gerontological Societies, and then it was later changed to the International Association of Gerontology (IAG). In 2004, the IAG’s Council of Directors decided to include geriatrics in the name, hence the change to IAGG for the 18th World Congress in 2005.

The mission of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics is to promote the highest levels of achievement in gerontological research and training worldwide, and to interact with other international, inter-governmental and non-governmental organisations in the promotion of gerontological interests globally and on behalf of its member associations. The Association pursues these activities with a view of enhancing the highest quality of life and well-being of all people as they experience ageing at individual and societal levels.

Today, the IAGG is represented in 64 countries around the world and boasts a worldwide membership of over 45,100 people. Additionally, it is now also working as a UN consultant and as a member of CONGO (Conference of Non-governmental Organizations).

AAG is a member of the IAGG and has been actively involved in the executive and council from the beginning. Dr. Gary Andrews was the 16th president of the IAGG, from 1997 - 2001. Current AAG Board Director Professor Keith Hill is the Immediate Past Chair of the IAGG Asia Oceania Region, whilst AAG past President Professor Julie Byles is the Chair of the IAGG Asia Oceania Region Social Research and Planning Scientific Sub-committee. Both Keith and Julie Are AAG’s representatives on the IAGG Council. Renu Borst, as CEO of AAG, is the Executive Officer of the Asia Oceania Region.

IAGG-AOR, the Japanese Geriatrics Society, and the National Centre for Geriatrics and Gerontology present the 12th IAGG Master Class on 'Ageing in Asia'.
AAG, ANZSGM and NZAG are partnering to bid for the 2029 IAGG World Congress at the 2021 IAGG World Congress in Argentina.

IAGG Asia/Oceania Region

The IAGG Asia/Oceania Region was established in 1978. Currently, there are 16 member countries, including Australia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Peoples Republic of China, the Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan ROC and Thailand. The Region has published an annual newsletter:

IAGG Asia/Oceania Newsletters

Locations of past IAGG Asia/Oceania Region Congress’


To find out more, please contact Renu Borst, CEO of AAG and Executive Officer of the IAGG Asia Oceania Region. 

E: [email protected]

2023 IAGG Asia/Oceania Region Congress

Yokohama, Japan in 12-15 June 2023