RM Gibson Program


The RM Gibson Program of the AAG Research Trust supports early career researchers and practitioners working across the multidisciplinary field of ageing.

The program was set up to honour the memory of Dr Richard (Dick) Maxwell Gibson, who played a foundation role in the development of gerontology within Australia and beyond. Dick made a significant contribution to AAG, including serving as National President and the inaugural Chairman of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics Asia/Oceania Region. In 1996, a biography of Dick written by Margaret Henry was published in the Australian Dictionary of Biography.

Targeting the next generation of researchers in ageing, RM Gibson Program grants are awarded for work that improves the experience of ageing through innovation in research, policy and/or practice.


Current grant round

In 2023, the RM Gibson Program offered:

  • Up to three grants of up to $10,000 (inc GST) each, for projects up to 18 months in duration; and
  • A possible additional grant of up to $10,000 (inc GST), for projects up to 18 months in duration for applications with a substantive dementia focus, made possible through a partnership between the AAG Research Trust and the Dementia Australia Research Foundation (DARF).



The next round of RM Gibson Program grants will be in 2024.

Previous awardees

We encourage you to read about the work we have funded across our grant programs. Summaries of projects funded through the RM Gibson Program are available via the links below, while the awardee showcase presents a sample of stories from completed projects.

2023 RM Gibson Grant awardees

2022 RM Gibson Grant awardees

2021 RM Gibson Grant awardees

2020 RM Gibson Grant awardees

2019 RM Gibson Grant awardees

2018 RM Gibson Grant awardees

2017 RM Gibson Grant awardees

2016 RM Gibson Grant awardees

2015 RM Gibson Grant awardees